Skip to content ↓

Music Masterclasses

On Monday 26 January our best musicians took part in a masterclass/coaching sessions in a variety of Chamber Music groups.

The masterclasses were given by professional musicians Daphne Moody, Lisa Nelson and Tony Waller. Their coaching was very helpful indeed and brilliantly received by the pupils.

Daphne Moody studied violin at the Royal Academy of Music with Sydney Humphreys and Frederick Grinke and has freelanced with several orchestras in the UK including the Hallé and the London Festival. Daphne is leader of the La Folia (formerly Sarum Orchestra) and the Eberle Quartet.

As a teacher, Tony Waller has taught brass instruments at Westminster Abbey, Westminster Cathedral and Winchester Cathedral schools, and currently teaches brass at Sherborne Boys School, Allenbourn in Wimborne, Talbot and Clayesmore School, where he also directs the Brass Ensemble and Jazz Orchestra. Since 1997, he has been a regular extra with the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, as well as trumpet player with the Joe Loss Orchestra and freelancing with the Syd Lawrence, Glenn Miller UK and Pasadena Roof Orchestras.

Lisa Nelsen is internationally recognised for her versatility as a flute soloist, chamber and orchestral musician, educator and mentor in performance practices. She grew up on a pig farm in Western Canada, and fed on all kinds of music, from opera to rock to jazz. She is a member of The Harborough Collective, a chamber ensemble led by internationally acclaimed violinist David Le Page, and most recently formed Enigma XIV with cellist Julian Metzger and pianist Paul Turner. Lisa gives concerts and masterclasses in venues across the UK, Canada, the United States, and most recently Hong Kong. She is a Professor at the Junior Department of the Guildhall School of Music in London, teaching flute and coaching wind chamber groups and the orchestral winds and has been the Specialist Flute Tutor at Wells Cathedral School for more than 15 years. Lisa is an artist for Yamaha Classical Division International and sits on the Council of the British Flute Society.