Skip to content ↓

Easy Listening Concert

The first Easy Listening Concert took place on Thursday 5 February at 8.35pm in the John Eliot Gardiner Recital Room.

The concert began with the Pop Strings performing Sam Smith’s ‘I’m Not The Only One’ under the direction of Bryony Moody. This was followed by a duet of the traditional song ‘O Waly Waly’ performed by Tamara Crane Robinson and Isabella Woolvine. The Guitar ensemble consisting of Anthony Hayward, Harry Middleton, George Lodge, Eric lam and Valerie Chiu then performed ‘Couleur Mambo’ by Thierry Tisserand. The flute group, conducted by Sarah Beales, performed an arrangement of Eric Clapton’s ‘Tears in Heaven’. The flautists were Arabella Chapman, Annabelle Cottle, Cara Kernon, Georgina Austin, Lucy Duggan, Tamara Crane Robinson and Ella Rowe.

Two Saxophone Quartets followed, the first formed of D boys performing an arrangement of the ‘Charleston’ by James P Johnson. The quartet consisted of Adrian Chan, James Bourke, Arthur Gray and John Martin and shows potential for the future. The concert then ended with the A3/B/C Saxophone Quartet consisting of Sophie Frampton Hobbs, Ella Harris, Wilfred Hadow and Millicent van Grutten performing Billy Strayhorn’s ‘Don’t Get Around Much Anymore’.